» Topic: Understanding Politics & What Mkt "Tells" It Might OfferBonner & Partners

Sunday, 21 January 2018

Contact Us: 1-855-849-2885

Understanding Politics & What Mkt "Tells" It Might Offer

Welcome! Forums The Big Picture Understanding Politics & What Mkt "Tells" It Might Offer

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  HENSE E. 4 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

HENSE E.
    Participant

It is actually possible to understand how politics works, and when one does, there are things it can tell us about the future. I worked in State government for 10 years or more, and I’ve been a student of the “political process” since I was 7 years old and, with my father’s encouragement, posed as a “Walking Billboard” for Richard Nixon’s 1968 Presidential campaign. A 1ST RULE of political analysis: Being insecure egotists at heart, a politician’s #1 goal is to protect and promote himself/herself. When pushed to a corner, when forced to make a choice, their own self-interest always wins. Or course, if they can simultaneously promote their ideological goals and denigrate those of their opponents, then so much the better, however, their primary foucs is self-aggrandizement. A 2ND RELATED RULE: Politicians never say what they mean, but they DO SAY SOMETHING. In other words, almost everything they say IS FOR A REASON, with that reason almost always being to directly/indirectly foster their own “brand”, their image, their popularity, and hence, their power. In politics, orchestration is the constant goal and the paramount skill. Hence, to glean anything actionable from their typical pronouncement, one must learn to read ABOVE, BELOW, AROUND, INSIDE, AND BETWEEN the lines of what they say.